Kansas, ranked No. 1 in the country and rolling into the middle of March, had its national championship hopes dashed two years ago by an unbeatable foe

The perpetually snakebit Jayhawks, who have a lengthy history of N.C.A.A. tournament disappointments, put those regrets and others behind them on Monday night,

rallying from a 16-point deficit — the largest comeback in a championship game — to turn back North Carolina, 72-69, before 69,423 fans at the Superdome.

Ochai Agbaji, Armando Bacot, Paolo Banchero, Caleb Love and David McCormack were named to the Final Four All-Tournament team, and Agbaji won Most Outstanding Player.

North Carolina players are being consoled on the court, tears in their eyes, as Jayhawks colored confetti falls around them.

UNC fought hard, but Kansas has shown time and time again this tournament that no deficit is too big for it to overcome.

Kansas wins the men’s N.C.A.A. Championship, defeating North Carolina 72-69 for its fourth title in program history.

A terrible blow for UNC to lose Bacot in this critical point of the game, and he’d been playing well on the ankle. He’s not in after that timeout.